Race Day: The San Francisco Marathon

If everything has worked out, at the time of this post, be running across the Golden Gate Bridge somewhere between mile 5 and 9 of the San Francisco Marathon.

I am 47-year old asthmatic am undertaking my first full marathon.  I think I am ready both physically and mentally for this race.  Let’s be clear though, this isn’t going to be glamorous, pretty or anything other than 12-13 minute-miles of slow paced going.

The slogan for this race is “Worth The Hurt”, how’s that for great marketing.  I expect that with the killer hills, the race will take me more than six hours.   This could be problematic as the race has a six-hour cut off.  That should be the worst of my problems.

To keep this in perspective.  If I make my run around this city in under six hours, then wonderful.   I get to see all the things I have been hoping to see for 8 month.  Even if I don’t finish, I will be sore for a few days and then I will heal up.   I am 47 years old and I am in the best physical condition of my life. Others aren’t so lucky.

I have a friend from college whose son has Cystic Fibrosis.  At 12 years old he is 5’1, he weighs only 69 pounds.  His doctors say his lungs are the worst they have ever seen.  So when I hear “Worth the Hurt”, I have to turn those words on their side and give thanks to God for the ability to come the start line and try this endeavor.  I am going to do my best to keep in my thoughts as I hit the hard parts of this race.

I might normally ask you to keep me in your prayers today (actually, I am too proud to do that), but instead, may I ask you to instead say a prayer for Benji and the other children of the world who suffer from CF and other conditions that are not of their making.

A quick note of thanks to all those who have been so positive and supportive in my journey to this bridge.   To my wife and The Child who have put up with my training, thank you.  See you at mile 13.   To those other friends who have given me advice and encouragement, thank you as well.

OK, I have to run, but I wanted to share an old song that I heard last week in church, this time, with a new ear.  Hoping that it speaks to you as it did to me.

WE WILL RISE AGAIN by David Haas

Like a Shepherd, I will feed you
I will gather you with care
I will lead you and hold you
close to my heart

We will run and not grow weary
for our God will be our strength
and we will fly like an eagle
we will rise again

I am strength to the weary
to the weak I am new life
Though the young may grow weary
I will be their hope

Lift up your eyes
and see who made the stars
I lead you and I know you
I am your God

Fear Not! I am with you
I am your God
I will strengthen you and help you
uphold you with my hand

2 thoughts on “Race Day: The San Francisco Marathon

  1. YOU MADE IT! I cannot wait to hear the whole story and I hope that the view was worth the hurt. Very proud of you for making the impossible possible.

    From one asthmatic to another. :)

  2. Congratulations!! I found the whole experience amazing – we may have been close by each other- i was the girl with the goofy smile on her face the whole time!

Your thoughts would be appreciated

