I have measured out my ride with coffee spoons

For I have ridden them all already, ridden them all:—  
Have ridden the evenings, mornings, afternoons,
I have measured out my rides with coffee spoons;
 

As I was riding to work this morning,  my eye caught a glance of something happening on my odometer.   I looked and looked again and found it rolling over to 12,000 miles.

It was that same feeling I have when I look at my daughter and realize she’s 14 and beautiful.  Where did the time and the miles go?

Over the past 8 years (I had to look that up), I’ve ridden my red Suzuki Intruder almost exclusively to and from work, rarely ever elsewhere  and never on the weekends.    I might ride my bike home for lunch occassionally, so with some overestimation, round trips to and from work being about 7 miles, means I have made somewhere short of  1,700 trips to and from the office.

For 12,000 miles, I could have gone to New York and back twice.

Where would you have gone if you had an extra 12,000 miles to spend?    

I have measured out my ride with coffee spoons

One thought on “I have measured out my ride with coffee spoons

Your thoughts would be appreciated

