Prompt for December 3: Celebration

I love a good challenge.  Especially when it comes to writing.  So when I heard that Sarah Rosemary at Sunny Side Up and DailyAngst were hosting Reverb11, a series of prompts on 2011, I of course, realized that there was no way I had enough time to participate.   That being said, here I go:

Prompt for December 3:  Celebration: What did you celebrate this year?  What do you hope to celebrate next year?

Click here to enter your link and become a part of our Reverb11 Journey…

I’ve never been one to overly indulge in celebration. When I graduated high school and college, when others were off having a good time, I was settled in and focused on the next step. That’s me, I’m big on getting on getting things done and dusted then moving on.  Even end of the semester parties never really held my interest for me unless they were put on by my roommate.

The last time I really remember celebrating was the Yankees Game 6 World Series win in 2009. The family had three pieces of cheesecake stacked up in the fridge waiting for the end of the 9th inning. I really had to think hard about this prompt.  Is it possible I didn’t celebrate anything at all in 2011?

After consulting My Day-Timer, I recalled that on January 11, we celebrated my daughters 5,000 day on the earth.  At the breakfast table on that Tuesday, we presented her a key to the house and a pair of fuzzy flip-flops that she had been wanting.  We also had some tiny tiny cakes from the bakery.  We had a similar celebration in December 2006 when she turned 500 weeks old.   Funny how when children are born, we measure their lives in days, weeks, and months.  Then after about 18 months, years become the default unit of measure.  I’ve always wanted to shake things up for my little one.  Nothing extravagant, but something that would celebrate her just out of the blue.  There’s something very pure about that; no expectations of presents, just BOOM! We celebrate you!

There’s got to be more to it than that.  Maybe it’s time for a reference check!

cel·e·brate (According to www.thefreedictionary.com)

v.tr.
1. To observe (a day or event) with ceremonies of respect, festivity, or rejoicing. See Synonyms at observe.
2. To perform (a religious ceremony): celebrate Mass.
3. To extol or praise: a sonnet that celebrates love.
4. To make widely known; display: “a determination on the author’s part to celebrate . . . the offenses of another” (William H. Pritchard).

v.intr.
1. To observe an occasion with appropriate ceremony or festivity.
2. To perform a religious ceremony.
3. To engage in festivities: went out and celebrated after the victory.

So I guess I equate celebration to whoopee and fanfare, when in fact it can be as quiet as an observation of the birthday of a lost parent.  My moms birthday would have been yesterday, I always celebrate that quietly.   My fathers birthday was last week.  I called but he wasn’t there to talk to (kind of like my mom, but very different).  We celebrated mass on many more weeks than we didn’t and in the Catholic church, we celebrate Easter for MONTHS!

Our biggest celebration in 2011 was our two-week trip to Canada which included the 7 day Disney cruise to Alaska.  The cruise was something that Laura and I have wanted to do since we lived in a one-bedroom apartment in the last century.   It was always that thing we were going to do one day, when our only big debt was the mortgage.   We made it.

At the glacier in Tracy's Arm Fjord in Alaska. We finally made it.

What do I want to celebrate next year?   The exact sames things as this year.  God, family, and health.  Another Yankees World Series and finishing the San Francisco Marathon in July would be good too.

Prompt for December 3: Celebration

Your thoughts would be appreciated

