Prompt for December 19: Wrestle

I heard that Sarah Rosemary at Sunny Side Up and DailyAngst were hosting Reverb11, a series of prompts on 2011.  I’m there.

Prompt for December 15: Thanks: What did you wrestle with in 2011?  What did you learn? What challenges do you foresee in 2012?

After the company was acquired this year, voluntary severance packages were offered to all employees deemed non-critical.   For me that package would have included 46 weeks of severance, health insurance for 9 months.   It was a very tempting offer as the company was going through radical change and I really wasn’t sure if I wanted to be a part of it.  After January 1, 2012, any separation packages will be six weeks.  On top of that, the pension plan I’ve been vested in for 23 years will longer be funded.  

About 10% of the company was targeted for layoff, both voluntary and involuntaryMost of the people who have similar roles as I do have been let go in the last year.  There are only 2 of us left.   I like to think that I am still here as a function of the quality and quantity of work that I routinely deliver.  That could also be me blowing smoke rings up my own nose.

The Child has started to suggest that she would enjoy living elsewhere, someplace that has distinct season.  We both have a predilection for New York.  She claims she wants to go to college in the City.   For me, changing jobs and continuing to do what I love requires a move to a select few areas of the country.   The places I would want to go are clearly not hiring.   That’s the problem with working in my field,  it’s an industry that you work in because you love it and it’s a part of you.

I really had to think about if I wanted to approach my boss and see if they would deem me non-critical. As loyalty is valued in the new organization,  I didn’t want to play my hand if I was going to be deemed critical.

As much as I would like to change and move, now is not the right time.  There are family obligations in this area.

The challenge in 2012 will be seeing if I want to continue or if I’ve had enough.

Change can be good.   It’s certainly better in certain phases of life than others.

Prompt for December 19: Wrestle

2 thoughts on “Prompt for December 19: Wrestle

Your thoughts would be appreciated

