Prompt for December 20: Flexible

I heard that Sarah Rosemary at Sunny Side Up and DailyAngst were hosting Reverb11, a series of prompts on 2011.  I’m there.

Prompt for December 20: Be flexible:  Sometimes life does not go according to plan.  Tell us about a time where you had to be flexible and change your plans.  How have you made changing your plans work to your advantage?

It would be easy to retell the story of how I didn’t get to Ireland for work in 2011.   That of course would be followed by the lost luggage and the story of the half-marathon in my work clothes. I really don’t want to write about those stories any more.  These reverbs are making me sick of my own stories, so we’ll go somewhere else, shall we?

 Let no one think that flexibility and a predisposition to compromise is a sign of weakness or a sell-out.   ~Paul Kagame

Flexible, I am.  What do I need to be today?  A chemist guy?  A business-guy?   Logistics dude?  Writer?  Marketing guy?  Tell me what you need and I’ll flex the best I can in the moment.

Being flexible means:

….. that when in a rush, I will have the waitress bring me dessert while the meal is being prepared.  It’s backwards, but it’s sometimes necessary.

….. living and breathing the “puts” and “takes” that comes with business.   Those takes and puts are messy, but sometimes we can’t hit a supraordinate goal without them.

….. normally trying to make the pie bigger for us and the other guy, while recognizing that sometimes, one of us is going to have to take it in the chin for a while.

….. there some business dealings which are transactions but the best ones are relationship-oriented.

….. staying in a lousy Scottish bed and breakfast because one is sick of multi-star hotels.

….. people will second guess your motivation and your intentions

….. recognizing that sometimes it’s better not to flex

Prompt for December 20: Flexible

Your thoughts would be appreciated

