Prompt for December 27: Wigits of Love

I heard that Sarah Rosemary at Sunny Side Up and DailyAngst were hosting Reverb11, a series of prompts on 2011.  I’m there.

Prompt for December 27: Love:  How did you feel loved in 2011?  How did you give love??

Christmas eve in our family includes a short road-trip to visit relatives for dinner.  That journey traditionally includes listening to the John Denver/Muppets Christmas album.  As we were driving home this year, I noted that I am still having trouble believing that John Denver is dead.    This prompt reminded me of a song that he wrote for his wife during their divorce.

Perhaps, love is a wigit that parents give their child.  the wigit could be hugs, affection, money, cars, spontaneous songs, or whatever outwardly expresses those internal feelings.  If the child doesn’t realize that these wigits they keep getting from their parent are actually xpressions of  love, should the child feel loved?

They say that the golden rule is to treat others the way we would want to be treated.  The platinum rule has been coined as “treat those the way THEY want to be treated.   Maybe that translates to, “Give the child the wigits they recognize as love”.  Love is best when it is salient to the receiver. Of course on the other side of that is the wisdom that we need to see love in the widgets we are given, even if they aren’t the widgets we want or need.

So with all that being said, the wigits I receive on a daily basis include a beer mug of Dunkin’ Donuts coffee delivered to me every morning by my wife while I get ready for work.  Wigits are stuffed into my Yankee lunchbox on a daily basis.  I also receive wigits in the form of a whey protein shake that I can drink at work each morning.  Love greets me in the form of dinner each night and the space to work if I need to.

I find wigits found in a cup of tea and in the dry-cleaning I find hanging in my closet. They can also be found drinking coffee or eating chocolates.  My life is filled with wigits that include little baked gifts and phone calls in the middle of the day.   Wigits include the memories of being in the mountains and looking over valleys as well as memories Amsterdam and Paris.

Wigits can also be years old and still make me feel loved. I was given a money clip as a present from Miss Sue Ellen Snyder, back in the late 1980s.  We were engaged at the time, but soon after we separated. 

Deepest Love for You Have I

I kept this particular items stashed away in a box of mementos when I started dating my wife.  The value of the item shifted after I learned that Sue Ellen passed away a few years back and I started carrying it with me ever day, tucked away nicely in my Day-Timer.  It has travelled the world with me and held US, Canadian and Aussie dollars.  It’s also contained Euros and Swiss Francs. I never notice my initials on one side, but I frequently ready the words Sue Ellen had inscribed so many years ago, “Deepest Love for You Have I”.   Whenever I read it, I think of her standing at a counter at Sears and thinking about what to have inscribed in this wigit.

Love may be given daily, but it grows warmer as the years go by. Love is full of conflict and pain, but it is also like a fire when it’s cold outside. I think John Denver got the song right when wrote, “the memory of love will bring you home”.   

Prompt for December 27: Wigits of Love

Your thoughts would be appreciated

