Dropping Out

It’s June.   I have decided to Drop Out for the next 60 or days. Consider it my own personal version of Lent, or maybe my own private Idaho.

You might ask, “What does that mean?”

To quote the first chapter of Timothy Leary’s book, “Turn On Tune in Drop Out”:

“When the individual’s behavior and consciousness get hooked to a routine sequence of external actions, he is a dead robot”

You might ask, “What the heck does that mean?”

When we get hooked on a “THING”, we pay for it by sacrificing a portion of our soul.   The more hooked we get, the less likely we are to be in touch with our spiritual self, the Universe and God.  Dr. Tim’s proposed solution was to

 ” Drop Out – detach yourself from the external social drama which is dehyrated and ersatz as TV”.

I spend a great deal of time staring at boxes. Those boxes come in the form of TV’s computer monitors, iPads, iPods, a kindle and blackberries.  Those flipping boxes are all over my life, both at work and at home.  There are even one to two devices strapped to me when I run.   It just feels wrong.  Maybe that’s why I don’t take take my mobile phone when we go to church, so I can focus and get centered.

A Pareto chart of destroyers of my day would show that Facebook and Twitter are the biggest wastes of my consciousness.   Twitter is fun media and there are some  funny and entertaining people.  At the end of the day, the stupidity to brilliance ratio doesn’t justify the investment of life. Facebook is not much better,  with certain limited exceptions.

Somewhere on that pareto chart as well is time destroyed is a bar labelled “checking my WordPress stats”.   That’s a different type of routine sequence of actions (problems).   I want to know what people are reading and where they are from.  I want to know what was read and what wasn’t.

So here’s my plan….

I am going to be dropping out of social media for a while.   I am going to replace that time with other things.  Guitar playing perhaps.   My guitars have so very much dust on them.

At the end of August I am going to run the San Francisco Marathon.    Until then, I’ve ceased all action on twitter and will be limiting Facebook to meaningful communications.   This and future posts will not be promoted on neither my Twitter or Facebook timelines.  That means that you lucky people who are subscribed to this blog are the only ones who get to know what’s this hippie is up to and thinking about.  I will still be reading blogs, but selectively.  I will be writing, because I think that’s meaningful… at least to me anyway.

You probably won’t see a tweet from me until I get to San Francisco for the marathon. You probably won’t see much from me on Facebook.  The social media world won’t miss me. The fact is that I am not that important in that space.  Where I am important is here with my family.

I have also turned off the likes and the sharing buttons on my WordPress.   They are just random, meaningless stimuli.    Comments however are always welcome and so very appreciated.

So… What boxes do you stare at?    What are you hooked on?   Come on, tell.

Dropping Out

Your thoughts would be appreciated

