Finish Each Day

While listening to my backlog of Writer’s Almanace from May, I came across a Ralph Waldo Emerson quote that I had never heard before:

Finish each day and be done with it.
You have done what you could.
Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in;
forget them as soon as you can.
Tomorrow is a new day;
begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.

I like it.  Reminds me of that mentality that goalies and pitchers have to have.   Put the past performance and the screw ups behind us and not relive them.

Let go of yesterday.  Remember the lessons and be at peace with the journey.     It does however remind me of another quote from the Diary of Sore Kierkegaard:

It is quite true what Philosophy says: that Life must be understood backwards.  But that makes one forget the other saying: that it must be lived – forwards. 

All that experience that we have is valuable, and we have to keep moving forward.    Experience and baggage are two diferent things though.

I’ve had a few bags surface from my childhood over the past few days.   These are bags I haven’t rummaged thought in decades.  All old family of origin work that has been put under the bed.  It doesn’t rule my life anymore.  It’s a distant memory, but it’s still a memory.

Blessed are the short of memory, for they shall know peace.     A brand spanking new simplifism that came to me this morning:

Difficult is the life of one who has no obligations.

Finish Each Day

Your thoughts would be appreciated

