5 hours from Starbucks

I knew I was in trouble when we got off the freeway and the GPS said, ‘drive 354 miles and then turn left’. There was a Starbucks just off the Freeway, but I didn’t want to stop. Heck, there’s always another Starbucks on the next block in California, that’s a law, right? Not along this highway there wasn’t.

We are in the mountains on the eastern side of California. There is no mobile phone service. There is free wifi in our hotel, but we can’t connect to it.

The Child is going through texting withdrawal.

There are four restaurants in this town. The one we at in tonight could have had a sign boasting, ‘Taking Your Cholesterol to a Whole New Level’. This place serves deep-fried french fries.

Did I mention the Bears? We had the ‘Be Bear Aware’ lecture at the front desk.

There are 43 days left until the San Francisco marathon. I am behind in my training. There are numerous trails to run here and the elevation is just under 8000ft. From experience I know that running will be hard at this altitude both because of the air being so thin and dry.

For the first time in 20 years, I just bought a map of California, just so I can figure out what to do around here.

This morning there was power outage. All cable and internet services have been completely cut off to this town. There is no TV reception what so ever. The Child is not happy.

I have resigned myself to the fact that Pepsi owns this part of the world and I won’t find a Diet Coke for the rest of the week.

It’s going to be an interesting 7 days.

Wifi/Service-free Zone

Wifi/Service-free Zone

First draft posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

5 hours from Starbucks

Your thoughts would be appreciated

