My Running Playlist

As I look at my twitter stream today I have tweeps running races all over the world.   Good luck to those running today in Long Beach, Portland, Atlanta, London, Chicago,  Minneapolis,  Maryland, and I am sure many other places as well.

For me, a big piece of running is my music, and I wanted to share it with you.   It’s a long list, mostly because  I’m a very slow runner of long distances.

I always start my races at the beginning of the playlist.  Occasionally,   when I want to change it up, I will start a weekly long run somewhere in the middle of the list.  Songs are always played sequentially (none of that random stuff).   Some of the songs are linked to their Youtube video in case you aren’t familiar with them.

Warm up: Sitting Here in Limbo – Jerry Garcia and David Grissman

  1. Thrillseeker – Puretone
  2. The Best – Tina Turner
  3. Let the River Run – Carly Simon
  4. Addicted to Bass – Puretone
  5. UDU Chant – Micky Hart
  6. Hot Legs – Rod Stewart
  7. I’m Tore Down – Clapton
  8. The Boy Does Nothing – Alesha Dixon
  9. On the Dark Side – John Cafferty & The Beaver Brown Band
  10. Hope – Shaggy
  11. Wild Angels – Martina McBride
  12. Touch of Grey – Grateful Dead
  13. Don’t Stop Believen’ – You know who
  14. Tainted Love (Extended Version) – Softcell
  15. On the Road Again – Grateful Dead
  16. Eminence Front (Live from Toronto) – The Who
  17. Rewrite – Paul Simon
  18. Gimme All Your Lovin’ – ZZ Top
  19. Heart of Glass – Blondie
  20. Mickey – Toni Basil
  21. Don’t Fight It – Steve Perry and Kenny Loggins
  22. End of the Line – Traveling Wilburys
  23. Shoot to Thrill – AC/DC
  24. I Don’t Wanna Stop – Ozzie
  25. Old Hippie III – The Bellamy Brothers
  26. Rollin’ – Big and Rich
  27. Take It Easy – Travis Tritt
  28. Come Dancing – The Kinks
  29. Ripple – The Grateful Dead
  30. New York State of Mind – Billie Joel
  31. Soft Place to Fall – Allison Moorer
  32. Siobhan – The Tossers
  33. Landslide – The Dixie Chicks
  34. East Bound and Down – Jerry Reed
  35. We Didn’t Start the Fire – Billie Joel
  36. The Lady is a Tramp – Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga
  37. Turn the Page – Bob Seger
  38. I’ve Been to Memphis – Lyle Lovett
  39. I’m So Happy I Can’t Stop Crying – Sting
  40. New York, New York – Sinatra
  41. Desolation Row (alternate version) – Dylan
  42. Enter the Sandman – Metallica
  43. I Left My Heart in San Francisco – Tony Bennett
  44. It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere – Allan Jackson
  45. All Jacked Up – Gretchen Wilson
  46. When I Paint My Masterpiece – Grateful Dead
  47. Gonna Fly Now (Theme from Rocky) – Bill Conti
  48. Island Boy – Kenny Chesney
  49. San Francisco Bay Blues – Richie Havens
  50. Somebody to Love – Jefferson Airplane
  51. All Along the Watchtower – Jimi Hendrix
  52. California Deaming – The Mama’s and the Papa’s
  53. Scarlet Begonia – Bob Weir and Rat Dog
  54. L.A. Woman – The Doors
  55. Waiting for that Day – George Michaels
  56. Chelsea Dagger – The Fratelli’s
  57. Glamorous – Fergie
  58. Me and Bobby McGee – Janice
  59. Graceland – Paul Simon
  60. Stayin’ Alive – The Bee Gees
  61. Birth of a Nation – La Gente
  62. Looks Like Rain – Grateful Dead
  63. Smoke on the Water – Deep Purple
  64. Stronger than Me – Melissa Etheridge
  65. Wake Up Older – Julie Roberts
  66. Lord, I Hope This Day is Good – Don Williams
  67. China Cat Sunflower/I Know You Rider – The Grateful Dead
  68. Promiscuous Girl – Nellie Furtado
  69. Crowded – Jeannie Ortega
  70. I Won’t Dance – Jane Monheit
  71. Faded Love – Willie Nelson and Ray Price
  72. Man Smart, Woman Smarter (Live) – The Grateful Dead
  73. Toxic – Britney Spears
  74. Long Way Down – Goo Goo Dolls
  75. I Don’t Care Anymore – Phil Collins
  76. Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again – The Grateful Dead
  77. The Seeker – The Who
  78. Rooftops – Lost Prophets
  79. Iko Iko – The Grateful Dead
  80. Summer Wind – Lyle Lovett
  81. Carryout – Justin Timbaland
  82. Dance with Me – Justin Timberlake
  83. Eyes of the World – Grateful Dead
  84. Not Fade Away – Grateful Dead
  85. Throwing Stones – Grateful Dead

The last three songs on the playlist from the Dead take a combined 40 minutes to play.  If I get this far on the list I have been running for five+ hours and frankly I don’t want to hear anything else.

So, what’s on your playlist

My Running Playlist

3 thoughts on “My Running Playlist

  1. It would take me longer than 5 hours to construct a play list but in truth, I would have a couple of symphonies on mine, Beethoven, Tchaikovsky Vaughn Williams etc, so they would get you nearly there! My favourite from your playlist is New York State of Mind, Billy Joel but there are a few others that I like also. However you do it, good on yer, as the Aussies say!

Your thoughts would be appreciated

