Prompt for 2 Dec: One Word!

Today’s prompt is courtesy of Carolyn Rubenstein.

Prompt for Day 2: 1. One Word  Encapsulate the year 2012 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2013 for you??

There are four books sitting in my family room that have been started in 2012, but not completed. There are 3 partially read books on my Kindle as well (except they take up less space and yet still provide the same visual reminders when I walk by).   It’s not that I didn’t like the books,  I haven’t had time to finish them.  With that, the word for this year is (sound the trumpets and let the pigeons loose): UNFINISHED!

Just before Christmas last year, I ordered a little refrigerator magnet that said, “There are two types of people in the world, those that finish what they start and those that…”  That pretty much summed up my state at the start of the year.   Lots going on, more being piled on and very little being brought to completion.   At the end of the year things haven’t improved.  I find myself drowning in things to do. If I were to ever come up for air, I would die of the bends.

Obligatory on-line Dictionary check:

1. unfinished – not brought to the desired final state

unpainted – not having a coat of paint or badly in need of a fresh coat; “an unpainted house”; “unpainted furniture”
unprocessed – not altered from an original or natural state; “unprocessed commodities”
rough, unsmooth – having or caused by an irregular surface; “trees with rough bark”; “rough ground”; “rough skin”; “rough blankets”; “his unsmooth face”
finished – (of materials or goods) brought to the desired final state; “a finished product”

2. . unfinished – not brought to an end or conclusion; “unfinished business”; “the building is still unfinished”

finished – ended or brought to an end; “are you finished?”; “gave me the finished manuscript”

3. unfinished – lacking a surface finish such as paint; “bare wood”; “unfinished furniture”

unpainted – not having a coat of paint or badly in need of a fresh coat; “an unpainted house”; “unpainted furniture”

This year has brought more than its share of home repairs.  A leaking pipe damaged both a bedroom wall and the ceiling.  The exterior trim on the house had faded and cracked exposing the underlying (UNFINISHED) wood.   In all these cases, I didn’t have the time to address the problems.  Laura found the right people to make the repairs and on three separate occasions, I came home and found my problems solved.  That’s a weird sensation to have a problems fixed as if by magic. I guess it’s true that any problem one can solve by writing a check isn’t a problem, but an expense.

I have turned into that guy who pays to have everything fixed in his home, rather than doing it himself.  I despised that guy when I was in high school.  I don’t like it, but see the utility now.  There is something to be said for having to-do list items done and dusted.  Especially the less rewarding to-dos that don’t bring the any sense of accomplishment, just relief.

FINISH2
One persons Finish Line is another persons half-way point.

Looking forward, the word I would want to encapsulate 2013?  That’s easy: Finish!
Right now, the closest I am to the words “finish” would be if one used the definition, “consumed”.

FINISH

To help ensure that those things started are completed,  the motto “Touch it Once” has become the implemented countermeasure (Countermeasure is to solution what opportunity is to problem).   I am already spread micron-thin.  It’s now a matter of having the  discipline to say no to those things which can’t or shouldn’t be picked up.  This goes for both work and life commitments.

Prompt for 2 Dec: One Word!