Prompt for 12 Dec: Benign But Pre-cancerous

Today’s prompt is courtesy of Cultivate 2012 Daily Prompt list

 Health: How did you treat your body this year? You only get this one vessel one time around. In what ways can you cultivate better health for your body next year?

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

                                                         December 2012
Dear Mr. Smplefy,

Thank you for allowing me to participate in your health care.  
The following information is regarding you recent Colonoscopy.

The polyp was benign but was pre-cancerous.  The polyp was 
completely removed. 
I do request that your repeat your Colonoscopy in five years.

Sincerely,

Your Doctor
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

This is the point where one discovers if one is as much a “glass half-full” person as one pretends to be.

On one hand, the polyp was removed a good 3 years before I would have normally had “the 50 test“.

To paraphrase Monty Python “this Polyp is no more.  It has ceased to be. It is expired and gone to meet its Maker.  This is an ex-polyp“.   Its little baby ass never had the chance to make the transition to cancerous. So score one for the 47 year-old guy with the health insurance.

On the other hand, the fact that the little shit (pardon the expression) was there, growing… waiting… messes with my head.

It was there,  like that first cockroach hidden inside a wall all by himself.  Silent.  Waiting. Growing.  Thinking (as much as a polyp can think) that it was going to take me out.  What if my close relatives hadn’t recently been diagnosed with colon cancer?  What if I had waited once I turned 50?  What might have happened?

“IT DON’T MATTAH WHA’ IF, ‘CAUSE I TOOK CARE OV  IT”.  Can’t waste life wondering what would have happened if you hadn’t taken care of business that’s been taken care of.

But I know many people who put off their colonoscopy and regretted it.

So now, on my calendar in September 10, 2017 is a little alert.  A reminder to make an appointment for another check inside the walls to make sure none of little ugly’s  friends rear their  little polypy heads.

In the meantime, please join me in a toast, “To the ex-polyp”.

Is the glass half full?
Lift one glass to cultivating better health way beyond 2013.

Half full my ass.  I am cultivating health in 2013 but I ain’t cultivating no polyps!

How about you?   Have your relatives had colon cancer? Are you over 50 and cultivating polyps?

Prompt for 12 Dec: Benign But Pre-cancerous

2 thoughts on “Prompt for 12 Dec: Benign But Pre-cancerous

  1. I’m so glad your ex-polyp did not hang out long enough to become a problem! *raises glass* To the ex-polyp.

    I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer one month after I turned 21. It had spread through my lymph system. Once I had that “yes” everything became possible in my mind. “It might be a pimple, or it might be cancer. It’s possible, you know.” It took a long time, but finally relaxed as much as I think I ever will. I will live until I die. Until I die, I’m alive. That’s as good as it gets.

    The up side is that all things are possible. It was against the odds that I would have cancer at 21. It’s also against the odds that I will achieve certain goals I have set for myself. So what? Odds mean nothing. It only has to happen once. Now you know it can happen to you. That means the good things can happen, too. 🙂

Your thoughts would be appreciated

