Music purchases should come with memories.

Don’t Fight It” by Kenny Loggins and Steve Perry was pushing me through my run this morning.  My mind wandered to a 1982 Saturday morning about 10am when the Warehouse music store across from the University of Nevada Las Vegas opened. Payday was the day before and I was at the store when it opened to buy Loggins’ “High Adventure”.  I unwrapped the cassette and listened to “Don’t Fight it” in my 1965 Mustang as I drove home.

As I ran a little bit further this morning, I though about how buying music has changed.

The first CD I ever bought was the Grateful Dead’s “In The Dark”.  I purchased that CD as well as a CD version of “Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits” from Lovell’s Record Store in Whittier, California in the summer of 1987.   I had to take “In the Dark” to a friend’s house to listen as I didn’t yet have a CD player.

I remember a CD I purchased from Lovells in 1997, a month after my mother died.  They say you can get any music you want at Lovells and within two days they found a particular CD of old Irish music that I had grown up listening to when it was just an LP.

In 1990, I purchased Paul Simon’s, “Rhythm of the Saints” at a Music Plus store about 2 miles from the home of the woman that is now my wife. We listened to the drums on that CD consistently all summer long.  More often that not, if we take a long road trip, that CD still comes with us.  The music has been part of our lives, but the actual CD has too.

When I was working on my MBA in 2006, there was a class discussion one day on whether or not there would be media even available for sale in 10 years.  I am torn, I like to convenience of being able to download songs and sometimes albums; however there are some albums for which I just want the media.

Once the question of download or media is resolved for a particular CD (can you really call a CD a CD if it’s a download?) and the answer is buy the media, the question then turns to whether or not to purchase it on-line or in a store.

I still like buying CDs in the store.  I like walking into a store and figuring out where that target is amongst all the other media.  Then there’s that micro-second of joy that comes from finding THE CD.  Then there’s the line up, the purchase transaction, the unwrap and the first playing.   And there’s that joy for the rest of the month that comes from having that new CD in the car when I get in.  Basically, what I am saying is that the experience that I had in 1982 is still a rush in 2012.

I don’t think there are ever any great memories associated with getting music in the mail.  Guessing there weren’t memorable downloads either.

What do you think?   Download or media?  Buy on-line or in a store?   Any great memories associated with downloading music?

Music purchases should come with memories.

Your thoughts would be appreciated

