Daybreak

Sleep was abbreviated by a recurring dream.  The clock read 5am and as I wasn’t going back to sleep any time soon I rolled out of bed.   I sat on the couch for a while thinking.  After failing to find any deep meaning in this incarnation of the dream, I set it aside.

Bird songs rang through the living room windows drawing me into the chilly early morning air of my back yard.   I took my seat my skychair and listened to the birds open for the morning sun.   It was both peaceful and simple.

It felt good to sit and do nothing for a long while.  I sent a short piece of morning video to my sister in London and then later Facetimed with my dad in New York.

My father and I chatted about the events in Boston.  After we hung up, I thought about the polarity of opinions about whether the bomber should be read his Miranda rights or not.  I found the matter to be much adu about nothing and like my dream, I put it aside.

As the sun moved higher in the sky, my feet started to warmup.  It was good to feel the chill being driven out. If only it were always that easy. Eventually, I started to feel like I might need sunscreen.

After I uploaded the video of the sunrise, Youtube presented me of another video called Daybreak.  This one referenced the song by Barry Manilow.   I smiled as the feelings associated with this late 70’s old feel-good song washed over me and I felt inclined to include it in this post.  In case your don’t remember, the chorus goes:

Yes, and it’s daybreak
If you wanna believe, it can be daybreak
Ain’t no time to grieve
Said it’s daybreak, if you’ll only believe
And let it shine, shine, shine
All around the world (let’s sing, sing it to the world)
C’mon and let it shine, shine, shine
All around the world

 

Eventually, the real world caught up to me.  Laura came outside to tell me it was 8:19am and remind me that I had to be out the door at 8:30am.   Time to go.

Have a great weekend.

Daybreak

Your thoughts would be appreciated

