Belated Race Report: Manhattan Half Marathon 2013

I make it a point never to carryover blog ideas (or drafts) from one year to the next. That being said, I didn’t want to lose the opportunity to briefly write about the Manhattan Half Marathon that I participated in on January 27, 2013.

IMG01810

I had wanted to run the Manhattan Half since I saw the pictures taken on the day of the 2011 race, where thousands of amazing runners made the 2 1/4 laps around Central Park in a frigid 14°F weather.  I remember wanting to be one of those determined people.

Then in the first days of 2013,  a trip to the East Coast unexpectedly drop on my work calendar.

IMG01814

Race day was just beautiful.  A light snow had fallen two nights before but things had warmed up nicely.   The roads weren’t slippery, but there was still a nice dusting of snow all around the park.

IMG01815

At the start of the race the temperature was  just shy of 21°F  but it had warmed to a balmy 24°F by the time I finished.  Memorable was the fact that the cups of water at the aid stations often had a layer of ice on top.  That was a new experience for me.

HI!
HI!

I had no time expectations for this race, given the temperature and rolling hills.  Through the 6 mile mark, I knew I was doing well and eventually ended up with this being my second fastest half marathon.

IMG_5504
Carrot Cake for Dessert

After the race, I went back to my hotel, showered, packed and met up with my father and my brother. We had a celebratory lunch at Serendipity and then, as is my norm when I run in New York, I raced to catch a plane.

If you ever get the chance to run this race, do it.

Belated Race Report: Manhattan Half Marathon 2013

Your thoughts would be appreciated

