I Remember When Training for Races Was Easy

It’s exactly 5 weeks until the Big Sur Marathon.

Yesterday, I finally got it through my thick skull that I am hurt.

I went out for what should have been 15-16 mile run yesterday, but I had to turn home after 4 miles.

The run started off like all runs have this training cycle with about 1/3 of a mile of tightness in my right knee.  I was definitely running on tired legs, which is normal for this late in the cycle.

About mile three I started to hobble and I noticed that my right foot was toeing (pointing) out, such that I was landing on it at a 45 degree angle. This was due to the lateral muscles of my right leg being tight. I tried massaging my thigh but the problem remained.  I stretched and walked, but the problem remained. My mind flashed back to those people at mile 23 of the San Francisco Marathon who were clearly hurting and it didn’t seem they would be able to go on.

I tried forcing my foot to land straight ahead, but that just strained my knee in a manner that was reminiscent of what I felt at the Santa Barbara Marathon. I started to feel fatigue in my left thigh as it was overcompensating for the right leg.  So I shut the whole run down.

At home I had a realization that even though I knew my right leg was the one hurting, I rolled my left side and then pretty much stopped.   This I believe is part of my problem.   I have been favoring my dominant leg when it comes to stretching and rolling.

I guess it is better to figure this out now than in 35 days, but it’s frustrating and a bit scary.  I really don’t want to have a repeat of what happened either today or at Santa Barbara.

Time is Running Out
Time is Running Out

So now the challenge becomes how to train and let my knee heal up again. I am guessing that is going to involve lots of bike riding, stretching and rolling twice a day and making peace with my reluctance to take Ibuprofen.

I remember when training for races was easy.

I Remember When Training for Races Was Easy

Your thoughts would be appreciated

